Dried figs – Part 1

Dried figs process calendar:

This is the second time I ‘m making sun dried figs, and I will post the process step by step, whatever the result may be. There are many instructions in the web and also in books, but the only way to achieve the best is to try again and again until I discover all the details that make the difference.

So, I need:

  • Figs
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • A Pot
  • A slotted spoon
  • A tray
  • Absorbing paper towel
  • A large baking pan
  • A large tulle cloth
  • Clothespins

how to make sun dried figs1. I pick all the ripe figs I have in the fridge. They are of several kinds as you see.

2. I blanch them in  boiling water with 1 tbsp of lemon juice, for about 1 minute. Then, I place them on a tray with paper towel, to absorb the excess water. I don’t have a picture of this, but I pressed them a bit with the slotted spoon.

how to make sun dried figs3. Now, I take an old, large baking pan, which I have cleaned well and place in the figs nicely.

 

 

how to make sun dried figs

Like this. Some of them were wide open at the bottom, so I cut them in half. This is how they do it in some methods; they cut them in half before sun drying, but I prefer the whole dried figs.

how to make sun dried figs4. Now I have to cover the pan, to protect them from insects and dirt.

So, I take the large tulle cloth and fasten it on the pan with clothespins, as it shows in the image.

This way it will be easy to uncover anytime I want to flip them over.

I place the pan on the roof, were there is plenty of sun all day long.

…continues

 

Leave a Reply

