Dried figs – Part 4

Dried figs process calendar:

(see Day 1 and Day 2 and Day 3)

The last 4 Days :

It took me 7 days to complete the process; the seven days of dried figs creation, are now over! So, I can rest for a while 🙂

how to make dried figshow to make dried figsDay 4: This was just another day of uncovering, flipping over and covering again. They keep drying, but not ready yet.

how to make dried figsDay 5: They look much better, almost done I could say.

 

 

 

 

how to make dried figsDay 6: I think they are ready but I will let them one more day, because the big ones are still a little sticky (just a little)

 

 

 

how to make dried figsDay 7: The final day has come! Time to store them for the cold winter days!

 

 

how to make dried figsI pick a nice clean jar, and I put 1-2 bay leaves at the bottom. Bay leaves keep away bugs.

Then I add some figs.

 

 

how to make dried figshow to make dried figsThen bay leaves again, and more figs, until the jar is filled.

 

how to make dried figsGreat! My sun dried figs are ready! I close the jar and since I ate a few during the process…, I ‘m going to keep these for the winter months. Besides there are a lot of fresh figs on my trees now. Certainly I will make some more! If you have access to fig  trees and sunlight, then you have to try it!

Leave a Reply

