Pickled Eggplants recipe

hoe to pickle eggplantsToday I’m publishing this tasty recipe of pickled eggplants. To tell you the truth, I never believed that I could like so much pickled eggplants, but I made the experiment anyway. The result surprised me!

Ingredients
2-3 medium Eggplants
2 Carrots (optional)
1 cup of strong Vinegar
2-3 cups of Water
A few Peppercorns
1 Cinnamon stick
1-2 garlic cloves (optional)
2-3 tbsp coarse Salt
1 jar with a lid
Notes: 2-3 medium eggplants are enough, it depends on the jar you will use.
How to:
how to pickle eggplantsWash and cut the eggplants into slices. Put them in a bowl, mix with the salt and cover with a plate. Put a weight on the plate to press the eggplant slices. Let them sit like this, for almost one day.
The next day, squeeze the eggplant slices with your hand and keep them aside on a plate. In the bowl you will notice some liquid; keep it also aside.
Peel the carrots and slice them. If you use garlic, peel it too and cut into small pieces.
how to pickle eggplantsIn a saucepan, pour the vinegar, the water and the eggplants liquid. Add the peppercorns and the cinnamon and bring to a boil.
Put the eggplant slices in the boiling vinegar for 1-2 minutes. Do the same with the carrots.
In the jar, put a few eggplant slices and a few carrots, until it’s filled. how to pickle eggplantsAdd the garlic pieces in between them. Use a small strainer to pour the hot liquid mixture in the jar. Add 1 layer of olive oil on top; about 1/4 inch.
Close the lid well, and let the jar aside for at least 1 week before you taste!
hot pickled peppersIf you like pickled peppers, you can make them both the same day.
I did so, and I collected of all the kinds of hot peppers I had in my garden. I putted them in the food steamer for 5 minutes and then in the jar. I coverd them with the same vinegar mixture, olive oil on top and closed!

how to pickle eggplantsThey are both a great ingredient for salads! I love them and I will try more pickling ideas in the future!

 

See more photos of the pickling, here:

Leave a Reply

